This is the "Library Collection and Classification" page of the "How to Browse Through Your Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

How to Browse Through Your Library  

Knowing LCC will help you to better find materials for your research.
Last Updated: Mar 17, 2014 URL: http://sampsoncc.libguides.com/LCC Print Guide RSS Updates
Library Collection and Classification Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

General Collection

The book stacks in the Library are open so that you may browse and select from the collection.  You may check out nonreference books as needed for three weeks; these may be renewed once for an additional three-week period provided that there is no demand for them.  All patrons may check out as many as five (5) books; however, no one should have more than five items at any one time. The stack collection is the largest and is located in the center of the library.

 

New Books

These books are shelved opposite the circulation desk for about one month before being shelved in the general collection. This section may contain the post current and popular books. You are encouraged to browse through them and check them out.

 

Library of Congress Classification

Sampson Community College Library uses Library of Congress classification.  The LCC (Library of Congress Classification) call numbers are featured on the spine of the book,dvd, or vhs. Knowing the classification system will help you locate books of a certain subject area. The system divides all knowledge into twenty-one basic classes, each identified by a single letter of the alphabet.

A - General Works

  • AC- Collections. Series. Collected Works. 
  •  AE- Encyclopedias
  • AG- Dictionaries and other general reference works.
  • AI- Indexes
  • AM- Museums. Collectors and collecting
  • AN-  Newspapers
  • AP- Periodicals
  • AS- Academies and learned societies.
  • AY- Yearbooks. Almanacs. Directories. 
  • AZ - History of scholarship and learning. The humanities. 

B - Philosophy. Psychology. Religion

  • B - Philosophy (General)
  • BC- Logic
  • BD- Speculative philosophy
  • BF- Psychology
  • BH- Aesthetics
  • BJ- Ethics
  • BL- Religions. Mythology. Rationalism.
  • BM- Judaism
  • BP- Islam. Bahaism. Theosophy,etc.
  • BQ- Buddhism
  • BR- Christianity
  • BS- The Bible
  • BT- Doctrinal Theology
  • BV- Practical Theology
  • BX- Christian Denominations

C - Auxiliary Sciences of History

  • C- Auxiliary Sciences of History
  • CB- History of Civilization
  • CC- Archaeology
  • CD- Diplomatics. Archives. Seals
  • CE- Technical Chronology. Calendar
  • CJ- Numismatics
  • CN- Inscriptions. Epigraphy
  • CR- Heraldry
  • CS- Genealogy
  • CT- Biography

D - World History and History of Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia, New Zealand, etc.

  • D- History (General)
  • DA- Great Britain
  • DAW- Central Europe
  • DB- Austria- Liechtenstein- Hungary- Czechoslovakia
  • DC- France- Andorra -Monaco
  • DD- Germany
  • DE- Greco-Roman World
  • DF- Greece
  • DG- Italy-Malta
  • DH- Low Countries -Benelux Countries

E- History of the Americas

F- United States Local History, British America (including Canada), Dutch America, French America, Latin American, and Spanish America

G- Geography. Anthropology. Recreation

  • G- Geography (General), Atlases, Maps
  • GA-  Mathematical geography. Cartography
  • GB- Physical geography
  • GC- Oceanography
  • GE- Environmental Sciences
  • GF- Human ecology. Anthropogeography
  • GN- Anthropology
  • GR- Folklore
  • GT- Manners and customs (General)
  • GV- Recreation. Leisure

H- Social Sciences

  • H- Social sciences (General)
  • HA- Statistics
  • HB- Economic theory. Demography.
  • HC- Economic history and conditions
  • HD- Industries. Land use. Labor
  • HE- Transportation and communications
  • HF- Commerce
  • HG- Finance
  • HJ- Public finance
  • HM- Sociology (General)
  • HN- Social history and conditions. Social problems. Social reform
  • HQ- The family. Marriage. Women
  • HS- Societies: secret, benevolent, etc.
  • HT- Communities. Classes. Races
  • HV- Social pathology. Social and public welfare. Criminology
  • HX- Socialism. Communism. Anarchism

J- Political Science         

  • J- General legislative and executive papers
  • JA- Political science (General)
  • JC- Politcial theory
  • JF- Political institutions and public administration
  • JJ- Political institutions and public administration (North America)
  • JK- Political institutions and public administration (United States)
  • JL- Political institutions and public administration (Canada, Latin America,etc.)
  • JN- Political institutions and public administration (Europe)
  • JQ- Political institutions and public administration (Asia, Africa, Australia, Pacific Area,etc.)
  • JS- Local government. Municipal government
  • JV- Colonies and colonization. Emigration and immigration. Internation migration
  • JX- International Law (also see JZ and KZ)
  • JZ-International relations

K- Law

  • K- Law in general. Comparative and uniform law. Jurisprudence
  • KB- Religious law in general. Comparative religious law. Jurisprudence
  • KBM- Jewish law
  • KBP- Islamic law
  • KBR- History of canon law
  • KBU- Law of the Roman Catholic Church. The Holy See
  • KD-KDK- United Kingdom and Ireland
  • KDZ- America. North America
  • KE- Canada
  • KF- United States
  • KG- Latin America- Mexico and Central America-West Indies. Caribbean area
  • KH- South America
  • KJ-KWX- Asia and Eurasia, Africa, Pacific Area, and Antarctica
  • KZ- Law of nations

L- Education

  • L-Education (General)
  • LA- History of education
  • LB- Theory and practice of education
  • LC- Special aspects of education
  • LD- Individual institutions- United States
  • LE- Individual institutions- America (except United States)
  • LF- Individual institutions- Europe
  • LG- Individual institutions- Asia, Africa, Indian Ocean Islands, Australia, New Zealand, Pacific Islands
  • LH- College and school magazines and papers
  • LJ- Student fraternities and societies, United States
  • LT- Textbooks

M- Music

  • M- Music
  • ML- Literature on music
  • MT- Instruction and study

N- Fine Arts

  • N- Visual Arts
  • NA- Architecture
  • NB- Sculpture
  • NC- Drawing. Design. Illustration
  • ND-Painting
  • NE- Print media
  • NK- Decorative arts
  • NX- Arts in general

P- Language and Literature

  • P- Philology. Linguistics
  • PA- Greek language and literature. Latin language and literature.
  • PB- Modern languages. Celtic language
  • PC- Romanic languages
  • PD- Germanic languages. Scandinavian languages
  • PE- English language
  • PF-West Germanic languages
  • PG- Slavic languages. Baltic languages. Albanian language
  • PH- Uralic languages. Basque language
  • PJ- Oriental languages and literature
  • PK- Indo-Iranian languages and literatures
  • PL- Languages and literatures of Eastern Asia, Africa, Oceania
  • PM- Hyperborean, Indian, and artificial languages
  • PN- Literature (General)
  • PQ- French literature-Italian literature, Spanish literature- Portuguese literature
  • PR- English literature
  • PS- American literature
  • PT- German literature-Dutch literature-Flemish literature since 1830-Afrikaans literature-Scandinavian literature-Old Norse literature: Old Icelandic and Old Norwegian-Modern Icelandic literature- Faroese literature- Danish literature-Norwegian literature- Swedish literature
  • PZ- Fiction and juvenile belles lettres

Q- Science

  • Q- Science (General)
  • QA- Mathematics
  • QB- Astronomy
  • QC- Physics
  • QD- Chemistry
  • QE- Geology
  • QH- Natural history- Biology
  • QK- Botany
  • QL- Zoology
  • QM- Human anatomy
  • QP- Physiology
  • QR- Microbiology

R- Medicine

  • R- Medicine (General)
  • RA- Public aspects of medicine
  • RB- Pathology
  • RC- Internal medicine
  • RD- Surgery
  • RE- Ophthalmology
  • RF-Otorhinolaryngology
  • RG- Gynecology and obstetrics
  • RJ- Pediatrics
  • RK- Dentistry
  • RL- Dermatology
  • RM- Therapeutics. Pharmacology
  • RS- Pharmacy and materia medica
  • RT- Nursing
  • RV- Botanic, Thomsonian, and eclectic medicine
  • RX- Homeopathy
  • RZ- Other systems of medicine

S- Agriculture

  • S- Agrigculture (General)
  • SB- Plant culture
  • SD- Forestry
  • SF- Animal culture
  • SH- Aquaculture. Fisheries. Angling
  • SK- Hunting sports

T- Technology

  • T- Technology (General)
  • TA- Engineering (General). Civil engineering
  • TC- Hydraulic engineering. Ocean engineering
  • TD- Environmental technology. Sanitary engineering
  • TE- Highway engineering. Roads and pavements.
  • TF- Railroad engineering and operation
  • TG- Bridge engineering
  • TH- Building construction
  • TJ- Mechanical engineering and machinery
  • TK- Electrical engineering. Electronics. Nuclear engineering
  • TL- Motor vehicles. Aeronautics. Astronautics
  • TN- Mining engineering. Metallurgy
  • TP- Chemical technology
  • TR- Photography
  • TS- Manufactures
  • TT- Handicrafts. Arts and crafts
  • TX- Home economics

U- Military Science

V- Naval Science

Z- Bibliography. Library Science. Information resources (General)

  • Z- Books (General). Writing. Paleography. Book industries and trade. Libraries. Bibliography
  • ZA- Information resources (General)

Who Am I?

Profile Image
Shelley McCullen Ryals
Logo - Twitter
Contact Info
Library Services Coordinator
Office Hours: 8AM-5PM M-Th
8AM-4PM Friday
 

Reference

The Reference book section is located towards the back of the library. These books are not intended to be checked out of the library and are used for general research.

 

Audiovisuals

 A substantial collection of audiovisual programs purchased to support SCC’s educational curriculum is housed in the Library for use on campus, though many may be checked out by patrons for use off campus. This section is located towards the back of the library.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip